Banda Municipal de Música de Bilbao

Wednesday, July 19, 08.00 PM
Conductor: José R. Pascual-Vilaplana

Banda Municipal de Música de Bilbao (1895) is integrated into BilbaoMusika, a local autonomous organization in charge of the management of the Municipal School of Music and municipal music bands. Performances of the Banda Municipal de Música de Bilbao include official ceremonies and popular festivities and concerts in venues such as Azkuna Zentroa, Arenal Bandstand and the Euskalduna Conference Centre. The latter has been the stage for performances with multiple renowned guest conductors, solists and ensembles. The Banda Municipal de Música de Bilbao has released fourteen records and has delivered performances throughout the whole Spanish territory.
José Rafael Pascual Vilaplana is now in charge of this wind band that is already older than a century. He started his musical studies with euphonium and piano. Later on, he studied Conducting of Wind Bands with Jan Cober and Eugene Corporon, and Orchestral Conducting in Wien with Karl Österreicher, Yuji Yuhasa and Hans Graf and also in Slovenia with Georges Pehlivanian. Pascual Vilaplana performed as guest conductor with several bands in Spain as well as in other countries all over the world. As a composer, Pascual Vilaplana has produced works for wind band, as well as choral and chamber music, commissioned by many festivals and prestigious soloist. Next to that, he teaches conducting and serves as artistic director in summer courses. His awards and merits include: First Prize “Gold Baton” of the WMC Kerkrade (1997); First Prize of the EBBA in Birmingham (UK, 2000); Euterpe Prix Medal for Wind Bands Conducting and Composition by Valencian Federation of Wind Bands (2004); National Prix Medal of Music “I. Morales Nieva” of the Festival de Música de Castilla La Mancha (2010).

Cantó Francés, Juan (1856-1903) Andante y Polonesa
Guridi, Jesús (1886-1961) Una Aventura De Don Quijote (Arr. J. Franco / Adp. Pascual-Vilaplana) 
Franco Ribate, José (1978-1951) Agüero 
Blanquer Ponsoda, Amando (1935-2005) Caleidoscopio 

I N T E R M I S S I O N 

Asins Arbó, Miguel (1916-1995) Ballets 
1. Ballet De Alfonso Xiii 
2. Ballet De L’Animalot 
3. Ballet Del Pardalero 
4. Ballet Del Sereno 
Fayos Jordán, José Miguel (*1981) Tribal Elements